A couple meetings.

Thursday, 1 May 2008.  I spent the morning sorting things out with the company, which sent the package, it was my portable hard drive that had I crashed on the Route 66 trip.  My neighbor was now approved to get the package.  Connie was able to join me for lunch.  It was good to see him again.  We had fallen out of touch, until I drove down to Florida about five years ago.  We had met at the Un. Of Chicago.  We were in the same “move by mail” diplomacy game.  After a pleasant snack and a grand time chatting away.  We called it a day.  I still had the drive across the Everglades on alligator Alley to Naples.  I got my room, and then connected up with Ben Bova and confirmed our dinner arrangements.  It turns out that the seafood restaurant I like in Albany has a sister store in Naples.  As has been the case in Albany, the food at Real Seafood was excellent.  It was good seeing Ben again, and we had, a fine wide ranging conversation over good food.  Ben gave me a copy of his recent thriller.  Looking forward to reading it.

Leave a comment