Chemo #9 – Update!

The period between Chemo #8 on 6 March and Chemo #9 on 3 April was relatively quiet.  No real complaints.  Not that I wasn’t running up my co-payments.

I met with the oncologist on 29 March.  The good news is that my PSA continues to edge downward.  It seems to have plateaued out.  As long as it doesn’t go up, I’m happy.

However, my kidney function was a little bit off.  As I was having blood work anyway each week, I tracked it and the function improved somewhat.

My plumbing continues to give me some problems, but they have remained minimal, thank G-d.  The severity of the problem varies from day to day.

The RBC count has remained high enough that another transfusion has not been required.  YEA!

I am still quite tired and run out of energy easily.  Fatigue is an off and on again companion.

While I still have some hair, it is mainly my eyebrows.  I’m still managing to hold the nausea at bay.  The meds and ginger seem to be working.

However, there is a new twist.  My toenails have fallen off.  What I now have are pretty ugly.  I’m hoping I won’t be required down the road to have them treated or something.

Don’t worry, my toes are still firmly attached, I think.

My taste buds have not recovered.  Such is life at the lunch counter.  After Chemo #9 everything tasted horrible for about a week.  Thereafter, it was merely poor.  I also felt quite tired and fatigued.

I saw the oncologist on the 25th of April.  No real changes indicated.

Off for Chemo #10 [only 290 to go!] this afternoon.

I’m slightly concerned about an upcoming procedure.  On the 15 May I’m scheduled to have my stents replaced.  This should be not a problem.  Last time they gave me a spinal.  Much better than being put entirely out.  However, this means they will be mucking about with my plumbing.  How badly this will effect me is the question.  This time I’m going to give myself an extra day before removing the catheter.  Last time I didn’t and had problems.  I really dislike ERs.

I also have some scans coming up in June.  Oh joy!

Meanwhile back at the ranch I’ve been keeping busy.  Went to Cooperstown.  Quite warm so I drove down with the top off.  Neat.  I hope, to  do a number of short trips this summer.

I’m studying a couple topics to keep me mind functioning.  Brain hasn’t quite melted.

2 Responses to “Chemo #9 – Update!”

  1. Trevor Hilton Says:

    Psalm 107:19-21
    19 Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble,
    and he saved them from their distress.
    20 He sent out his word and healed them;
    he rescued them from the grave.
    21 Let them give thanks to the Lord for his unfailing love
    and his wonderful deeds for mankind.

    I’ll continue to Pray for you, Wombat.

Leave a Reply

