A dose of reality!

About a month ago I was reading the article in TIME on the 100 most influential persons.  My friend Lin suggested I should be nominated.  In my 73 years, I’ve learned never to argue with a woman when she pays you a compliment. 🙂
So off I went to the TIME web site only to find there was no way for anyone to nominate someone to the list.
It was an “Ah ha!” moment.  TIME nominates a bunch of persons and lets its readers vote.  This is, of course, how the USSR, the PRC, and the Democrats and Republicans run/ran their nominations for the political slate being put forth to the public.  (Yes, anyone can get their name on the primary ballot, but no one who isn’t supported/approved by the Party makes it to the final ballot.)
The other thing is that all the nominees and winners are part of the 1%.  This is simply an observation.
I can’t wait to see who TIME nominates next year.
Leave a Reply

