10 Red Shift Cruise Diary

Friday to Sunday, 9 – 11 April 2010 – I had read for a while and then got a good night’s sleep.  I straggled into the kitchen to find Don & Peggy much too awake.  French Toast, bacon & hash browns was a fine start to the morning.

I finally gathered up my “stuff” and headed down to Richmond.  It was cloudy and had one spit of rain on the drive.  Otherwise it was pretty good, tho there was a fair amount of traffic.  I found the hotel after one false start.  By later in the day the sun was out and the weather delightful. 

The room was quite nice, tho I did have two problems.  The supposed internet connection was not on.  The cable connection never did work and the wireless was disgustingly slow.

The con was a non-event for me.  As I wasn’t on the program, the con decided not to give me a free membership, even tho I had been a past FGoH.  So I didn’t join.  The parties were open & I was able to sit around and meet up with friends old and new.  Okay, it is an ego thing.  Yes, I’m a legend in my own mind.  Actually, had I not been doing the trip, I would have checked before hand and not driven down.  No membership, no appearance.  Other than that and the wretched internet connections, I had a good time.  I met a bunch of quite interesting folk in addition to those I already knew. 

After taking a picture of my first Vette Girl, Leona Wisoker, also famous author, I called it a day and headed down the pike to Burlington, NC, & the Motel 6.  I got a light dinner nearby, read, and crashed out fairly early.

2 Responses to “10 Red Shift Cruise Diary”

  1. Trevor Hilton Says:

    You’re a legend in my mind, too.

    Sorry to hear about the convention. But, I’m glad you had fun anyway.

  2. The Wombat Says:

    Such is life. I had a fun time there notwithstanding.

    Driving Red Shift is great fun.

Leave a Reply

