22 January 2009.

After my usual so-so sleep I awoke to clouds. It had sprinkled overnight. I traded in my shirt & jeans for T-shirt & shorts. J Mike picked me up around noon. I had spent the morning beginning my blog update & chatting with a snowbird from Duluth. He was in a wheelchair & had an ATV for getting around parks and backcountry. I referred him to the Rt. 66 e-group for info on driving The Road. I also touched base with Mike Ward, a Rt. 66 Roadie, who lives in Mesa. We are planning on getting together Friday evening for dinner. I’m hoping the other “Mike” & Jean will join us for dinner. After a light lunch ala Mexican we headed up country. I was in the mood for scenery. We headed up Apache Trail to Roosevelt Dam/Recreation area. The first stop was to get a photo of Superstition Mt. Next was a view of the scenery looking out to Needle Point. Then on to the Canyon Lake Vista. I was beginning to get a nice fill of scenery. We zipped thru Tortilla Flats. Heading downhill to Fishcreek Hill Vista. The road, for quite a while now dirt/gravel was narrow and twisty, obviously laid out by a drunken snake with hiccups. Wonderful! The passage over Fishcreek was a narrow canyon surrounded by high cliffs. We stopped for a look at Apache Lake. This was the end of my photo taking, but enjoyed the views as we drove along Theodore Roosevelt Lake. We turned onto SR 87 and headed back to Scottsdale. We spent some time with Jean at the vets as one of their cats was ill. Then Mike & I went out for Italian. It was a good day.

Leave a Reply

