The Taxman may be ripping you off.

The city of Albany has a nice scam going.  When one gets their property tax bill, it says you owe so much, but then on the tear off portion, which you are to return, it says, you owe this much.  The only problem is that this is only half of the total property tax.  I’m over 65 and get a reduction in my rate.  Thus, the bill implies I only owed half of what I really did.    Well, I was burned once, but not again.  However, there are a lot of property owners who are paying a 5 or more percentage penalty on their taxes for be late.    I wonder how many other municipalities are ripping off their constituents as does Albany?    Check you next tax bill!  

Leave a Reply

